I gotta be me

Okay, so you may or may not have noticed a change in the tagline to my blog. It used to say “Where leadership, culture and ministry collide.” Now it says “Where culture and youth minsitry collide.”

Why the change? Its simple – I gotta be me. When I first started blogging, I was reading guys like Andy Stanley, Craig Groeschel, Ed Young, John Maxwell and other leadship insight people. So, I wanted to be more like them. Small problem…I’m not them.

Leadership – as much as it intrigues me and as much as I desire to be a better leader – is not my area of expertise. I’m a 28 yr old youth pastor with just under 6 years of experience. I don’t have much to say about leadership without regurgitating someone else’s words mixed in with my own small experiences. While I DO THINK THAT TYPE OF VOICE IS VALUABLE IN A NON-MEGACHURCH OR GIGACHIRCH SETTING, I don’t thinnk I’m that type of voice. Atleast not yet.

I do music and I’m a youth pastor. I’m a student of culture and its potential impact on ministry. Fashion, art, music and entertainment – I know that stuff. I know how to see the leverage, the dangers, the benefits and all of that on youth ministry. So why not talk about that stuff? Its what I know.

And no, I’m not trying to be Tim Stevens. This is going to be VERY different.

1 Comment »

  1. jordanboyce Said:

    dude. thank you. i love the post- i had to deal w. that alot at GC, trying to stay me…cant wait to hear what you got.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

