No “Student” Ministry For Me

I have never embraced the term “student” ministry for a myriad of reasons. I won’t list them all (mainly because I don’t have the time and neither do you), but I will mention a few:

1. The people I minister to are more than just “students”. They are leaders, artists, musicians, sport players, gamers, skateboarders, bike riders, employees, sons, daughters, boyfriends, girlfriends, drivers, cheerleaders and SCORES of other things than just the title they hold from 7-2 Monday through Friday during the Fall, Winter and Spring. They are so much more than students, so I won’t let their day jobs become their label.

2. Some of the people I minister to aren’t “students” at all. I mean, how do you invite the 16 year old drop out to “student” ministry if he’s not a “student”? If you say “welcome to our student ministry” they’ll think they’re in the wrong place because they aren’t students. What do you call it during the summer? Most people aren’t even in school, so how is it “student” ministry?

That’s just the REALLY short list. I have not and will not embrace the term “student” ministry for our church. We’re a youth church. I’m okay with that for now. For me, works better and is far more reaching than “student” ministry.  You might like “student” ministry and live in an area where you can reach “students.”

If you call your ministry “student” ministry – more power to you. Let it roll. But when you drive passed the projects or the trailer homes tomorrow and you see the drug dealers, drop outs and drug users that aren’t “students” at any school and you wonder “what can I do to reach them?”, don’t be surprised if they don’t accept your invitation to your “student” ministry.

2 Comments »

  1. cassee01 Said:

    I love your energy and enthusiasm and just wanted to let you know that you are inspiring.

  2. czarthoughts Said:

    Cassee01, thanks for the comment. That’s more of an encouragement than you know.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

