Did Barak Obama copy Andy Stanley???

For 2 consecutive weeks, we get to see history. Last week, we saw an African American accept the Democratic nomination for President of the United States. Tonight we’ll see the first woman accept the Republican Vice Presidential nomination. Historic 13 days indeed.

I joined 38 million of my closest friends around the world watch the historic speech last week. I started off completely amazed at the speech – the style, content and delivery. Especially given the fact it was made on the 40th anniversary of the “I Have A Dream” speech. That made it even more surreal.

Towards the end of the speech, my father in law said “Notice how he keeps saying ‘you’ in this part of the speech?” Then I began to rehash the speech in my head and then I said “Watch him end the speech saying ‘we’!” And I was right! How could I guess the speech would end that way? Well if you’ve ever read Andy Stanley’s book “Communicating for A Change” you would have noticed the style of the speech.

Me-we-God-you-we

Well, maybe not the “God” part. But he just replaced it politics/politcal agenda and voila! The “change” candidate was communicating for a “change”…

Watch the speech here and notice his transitions from “me” to “we to “politics” to “you” to “we.”

2 Comments »

  1. ryan day Said:

    You ruined this for me…I can’t believe you compared Barack to the Right Rev. Andy Stanley . Don’t put Andy down like that!!! 🙂

  2. czarthoughts Said:

    LOL! Thanks for the laugh Ryan.

    Its not a put down on Andy The Great. I’m saying Barack may have copied his style. Is Barack a biter? Hmmm


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

