You’re not a Christian? THAT’S AWESOME!!

Every week in our youth church, we try to capture as much as information as possible from our attendees. Last night, we didn’t have a regular service. Instead we just had a cookout. This is not something I normally do because I believe that our Wednesday night services should be used to focus on our “Link to God” aspect of our mission. But, this time when the idea was presented by members of the team, I felt compelled to run with it.

It drew out people we hadn’t seen in months and people we had never seen before. It was GREAT. But, my favorite part of the night is when I looked at the information sheets we had people fill out. On the sheet, we ask “do you consider yourself a Christian?” Why do we ask? So we can get some kind of gauge as to how we are doing to reach the lost. Surely some people answer the question causually and just say yes because they aren’t any other religion. But some answer honestly.

Last night I saw my FAVORITE answer to that question on the sheet. Some people answered “No.” SWEEEET! You’re not a Christian? THAT’S AWESOME!!

Why is that awesome? Because it shows us where the Great Commission can be acted out in our setting. It shows us where the chance for the ultimate miracle can be done right in front of us. It gives evangelism a new face every week. It gives another opportunity for the angels in heaven to rejoice after the person realizes the realness of God and what Christ did for them. It gives them the chance to encounter the love of God and the love of His people. Plus, it shows us we’re not just a gathering place for church kids to feel safe, but a place where unchurched people can come and safely hear a dangerous message.

So when I see people coming in that aren’t Christians, I get excited because I believe God can reach them and at some point someone will ask them if they are a Christian and one day they will say “Yes.” Not because they come to our youth service with other Christians, but because they’ve dedicated their lives to Christ personally. And that’s awesome.

3 Comments »

  1. I’m not a Christian. Is that awesome? Is God going to reach me? Tell him to hurry up.

  2. Leonce Said:

    Thats real big man…keep living out in the margins, and God will continue to do it big.

  3. czarthoughts Said:

    Tommy, first of all, thanks for swinging by the blog. Not sure how you got here, but welcome.

    Do I think its awesome you’re not a Chrsitan? Sure I do. Especially based on the things I’ve seen on your blog (which were quite good by the way.) You don’t seem like the typical intolerant, foaming at the mouth atheist who just wants all religious/spiritual people to to just rot away. You seem like what I would consider a “seeker” or someone who is genuinely curious, but has slant towards skepticism.

    To me, that is awesome. My prayer is that you get clarity. I don’t think that its something that will come from casual searching since your current closely held beliefs didn’t come from casual searching. I also don’t believe that any “clarity” (I know that whole concept is foggy in and of itself because who’s to say you don’t already have clarity, right?) is going to come from some canned cliche answer.

    I’ll continually pray for you on your journey and whatever I can do to help along the way, I’m willing and so are the people in this little blogging community here at “Collision Course.” (But don’t worry, no one here will judge you, say that the Spanish Inquisitions were a good thing or tell you to vote Republican 🙂 )

    God bless.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment