I feel like Big Meech? That explains a lot!

I heard a song on the radio the other night and it BOTHERED ME to my core. Maybe you’ve seen it performed on Late Night w/ Jimmy Falon. Its the new song from Rick Ross aka Ricky Rozay (huh?) on his new #1 selling album -180K sold in the first week- “Teflon Don” called B.M.F. (Blowing Money Fast). As soon as I heard the chorus I became enraged. It starts like this:

I feel like Big Meech, Larry Hoover…

Right there, in my car, in my own way – I lost it. Why? Because I saw what was happening. What was happening was… (read more)

7 Comments »

  1. Jay Curtis Said:

    I’m like King David, Nehamiah…man. To be honest, people like tangible things and fast results. Even tho the heroes of the Bible are real, if they aren’t recent or a trending topic or have a fake facebook/twitter account, then to most people, upon first glance, they are fictional to this generation. I think the best way we can point out heroes to this generation is becoming heroes and focus on the heroes of today. It doesn’t even has to be a pastor. No one’s rapping, “I feel like Barack, Colin Powell…”

    Eh, I could be wrong. What’s your thoughts?

    • czarthoughts Said:

      That’s actually what I’m talking about. I’m talking about people bot referenced in the Bible who were rooted in faith of the Bible. I know some cats will mention some like J Piper, Martin Luther, MLK, Rick Warren, Bill Hybels, etc.

      But Im also looking for people like William Wilberforce who weren’t known for their faith but was what grounded them as they shaped and changed the worlds.

  2. Nice Blog! I Ministered @ a Youth Conference tonight on a Similar Subject.. So Many More Great Disiples and Apostle We Can also Follow Who Followed CHRIST.. Not only Dat Man.. What about The Storys Of Smith Wiggles Worth!?! But Dats Real Talk Brother! Bless

  3. Nice Blog! I Ministered @ a Youth Conference tonight on a Similar Subject.. So Many More Great Disciples and Apostle We Can also Follow Who Followed CHRIST.. Not only Dat Man.. What about The Story’s Of Smith Wiggles Worth!?! But Dats Real Talk Brother! Bless

    • czarthoughts Said:

      Thanks! The fact that he could ONLY read the Bible is still amazing to me. Dude 51 noted resurrections, 16 of which were medically verified…WHOA!

      But who else? Who can we celebrate that lived it for Christ. They don’t have to be preachers and theologians either. What about William Wilberforce, Peter Drucker, Peter Daniels, Zig Ziglar and more?

  4. shane Said:

    As a father of five, i’m considerably concerned about who our culture purports as heroes. My oldest son idolizes (yes, that’s the right word) superheroes, which as a concept isn’t all that bad. But when he grows up (he’s 5 now) and begins looking for real folks to follow, i want it to be guys like Ezra and Nehemiah. Or even King David – not for all the stuff he did right – but because after he failed and had the privilege of rebuilding the temple taken away from him, he still sought the Lord.

    Or guys like my roommate in college, @marcusjlewis, who questions things from a Biblical perspective even when it ruffles the feathers of those he respects and admires. He just wants to know the truth and follow it. Or, maybe its guys like my pastor, Charles Garland, who steadfastly preaches the Gospel in the midst of a legalistic Christian culture that screams “Do this and don’t do that”. Or my buddy Jamie, who listens to my fears and struggles and points me to the cross without trying to fix me. These are the guys who have saved my life. The guys who will carry my casket one day are the guys who carry me now. And they are my heroes. I hope my son(s) have guys like this in their lives one day. Thanks for the post bro.
    Shane

    • czarthoughts Said:

      Shane, I feel you. Sometimes, the people who have the greatest impact on us are people who are willing to walk with us as we learn to walk with Christ.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

