Archive for August 21, 2008

On behalf of the screw ups – I’m sorry

The history of Evangelical Christendom has seen its share of glorious highs and embarrassing lows. From the respect and adoration that Billy Graham has earned throughout the decades to the scandals of Jim Baker and Ted Haggert.

Many of you reading this blog may have been scarred by the effects of the negative things that have taken place in recent history. From Ted Haggert’s misconduct, to Todd Bentley to most recently The Healer song debacle. The fall out from these events may have left you hurt and may have even damaged your faith in God.

Realistically, you know that not all of us so-called “evangelicals” are like the negative images you see on the TV or on the internet. Despite what you know, the preacher that cursed at you personally or lied to the world globally has left you with a bad taste about God, the Bible and Christianity. In your eyes, you believe that they royally screwed up. And not only did they screw up, it seems like everyone is acting like what happened to you is not a big deal – and THAT is the most frustrating part.

Well, on behalf of all of the screw ups who lied, cheated, stole, deceived, adultered, murdered and molested – allow me to say one thing: I’m sorry.

I’m sorry those things happened to you. I’m not sticking up for them, I’m not defending them. I am simply apologizing to you for what happened on behalf of my brothers and sisters. I don’t think you deserved what happened to you. I’m just taking what happened to you and putting it in the open so that you can finally have some sort of closure.

Please, I ask that you forgive my brothers and sisters in Christ for what they have done. Not because they “deserve” your forgiveness, but because you deserve to live free from what has happened to you and you deserve the right to see God clearly. You deserve the chance to hear what God has to say to you without the filter of the pain that my brothers and sisters have caused you. Forgiveness will give you the chance to remove that filter.

Understand my heart, I’m not saying that I’m some super Christian without faults. i have my faults, and I recognize my faults are many. I’m not here to judge you or my Christian siblings for what happened. God knows, that honestly I am capable of the same thing – if not something worse. And really, neither you or I can take the righteous high ground to say that either of us is better. I know I can’t. I’m imperfect and I need God’s grace and quite honestly I need the grace of others too sometimes.

I’m not saying what happened to you wasn’t a big deal. It was, and for that again – I apologize. I ask that you extend forgiveness to my brothers and sisters in Christ who have wronged you. Not for their sake, but for yours and mine. Your sake so that you can lift that remove that anger and see God clearly. My sake so that when we meet, you won’t see them when you see me – but you’ll see me.

So, on behalf of the screw ups – I’m sorry.

The “Healer” Lie – The Aftermath

The Healer controversy is shaking up worship and youth ministry communities across the globe. Now, apparently Mike G. is being ordered to appear before the cops to explain what happened to all of the money that was raised for him. This rabbit hole goes deeper and deeper.

But here’s a better question, what will the aftermath of this be? Given the blackeyes the evangelical community has taken in recent weeks with Todd Bentley leaving his wife and ministry and now this situation, what will the fallout be? How should the church at large respond?  Should the church at large respond at all? Should it be handled by his family, parents and pastors?

Are we going too easy on him? Where does the church draw the line between John 8:6-11 and 1st Corinthians 5:5?

My question for the Body is not a question of forgiveness because I don’t think we should harbor anything in that regard. Christ died for us and forgave us, so ought to forgive others.

A bigger issue that the church needs to be prepared for is the fact that the people who were influenced by this song may have some very, very negative reflexes from this. How do we counsel them? I’m not worried about Mike G. because he seems to have enough good people around him to help restore him, just like scripture suggests. But how do we deal with the reaction to this type of deceit? Do we sweep it under the rug and pretend it didn’t happen? Do we say “but the song is still awesome”? Do we say “I know you have been deceived by someone and your trust has been violated and on behalf of my brother in Christ – I’m sorry”?